1. Parenting
Send to a Friend via Email

Landmark Cases in Adoption Law


To understand adoption law and policy, one must understanding the important legal cases involving it. Landmark cases are those that significantly change existing law. This paper summarizes 11 landmark cases--six from the U.S. Supreme Court, four from State Supreme Courts, and one from a federal appellate court.

U.S. Supreme Court cases must be followed by all courts nationwide. State Supreme Court cases must be followed by all courts in that state. Federal Appellate cases must be followed by federal courts in that federal circuit. The country has 11 federal circuits, each consisting of several states. The sixth circuit, for example, consists of Kentucky, Tennessee, Michigan, and Ohio. All courts may consider case opinions from outside their own state or federal circuit in reaching a decision, but they are not bound by them. The state and federal appellate cases cited here have been highly persuasive across the country.

U.S. Supreme Court Cases

State Cases

Federal Appellate

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.